Guest Blog Post: Steve writes about his rabbit Salem

**I was feeling very tired this evening, so I asked Steve to write up a little something about his latest pet for our blog. I think he did a great job. Enjoy!

Salem

Salem

We got our rabbit from the Summit County Fair. He is a Netherland Dwarf which is the smallest breed of rabbit; once he is full grown he will only weigh about 3 pounds. His name is Salem. I spent all week at the fair since I was in 4-H, and my group head ran the rabbit barn, so we spent all week there in the barn. I got to hold a lot of the rabbits, but I picked Salem from them all. He likes peaches and carrots. He will be 3 months old on September 9th.

First day home

First day home

Salem refuses to be litter trained. He will poop everywhere but the litter box, and somehow it even gets under the litter box. So I just gave up.

He LOVES running around on the back porch and playing with boxes, plastic containers, and anything he can rip up or throw. Our back porch is closed in so I gate off the doorway and leave the door open so I can easily look into the room. He spends about 3 to 5 hours a day back there. I put his food, toys, and a bowl full of water back there for him. When he gets tired he sleeps on a stand which has the top then a little lower level. We used to put animal cages on it but then we rearranged all the cages.

Playdate with Bean the hedgehog

Playdate with Bean the hedgehog

He is very tame, and he will lay down with you on the couch, and he loves pretty much everyone.

Chilling on the couch

Chilling on the couch

One thought on “Guest Blog Post: Steve writes about his rabbit Salem

Leave a Reply

