The Beatles

In honor of the new Rock Band video game that is coming out next week, The Beatles are on the cover of this week’s Entertainment Weekly. Well, actually, the cover is an old photo of just John and Paul, but there are quite a number of other photographs inside the issue. As Steve and I flipped through the magazine issue looking at the pictures and glancing through the articles, we sang snippets of our favorite tunes. One of the articles we perused was a list of what the EW writing staff considered the top 50 Beatles tunes of all time. Naturally, we both completely disagreed with the order the writers listed, so we decided to come up with our own list. Of course, the two of us couldn’t come to any kind of agreement either, so we each made up a list of our favorite ten tunes.

Steve’s Favorite Ten Beatles’ Songs

1. Eleanor Rigby
2. Lady Madonna
3. Hey Jude
4. Ticket to Ride
5. Octopus’s Garden
6. Yellow Submarine
7. Help!
8. Eight Days a Week
9. Come Together
10. Yesterday

Steve’s list isn’t really in order top-ten order after the first three songs. His favorite song is definitely “Eleanor Rigby,” and he made me listen to it about a dozen times already this morning.

Mom’s Favorite Ten Beatles Songs

1. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
2. Lady Madonna
3. I’ll Follow the Sun
4. Norwegian Wood
5. Hey Jude
6. Yesterday
7. Paperback Writer
8. Eleanor Rigby
9. I Am the Walrus
10. You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away

Currently, my favorite Beatles song is “While My Guitar Gently Weeps.” It changes every so often. “Yesterday” was my favorite when I was a child. I did not put “Eleanor Rigby” on my original list, but Steve had a cow, so I bumped off “Maxwell’s Silver Hammer” so I could add in his favorite.

Dad’s Favorite Ten Beatles’ Songs

1. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band
2. Maxwell’s Silver Hammer
3. Eleanor Rigby
4. I Am the Walrus
5. Michelle
6. When I’m Sixty-Four
7. Norwegian Wood
8. Rocky Raccoon
9. Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds
10. Paperback Writer

We asked Ken to make a list too, but he had an awful time narrowing it down to just ten. Finally, he just gave up and handed me the most current list he wrote. I suspect that part of the reason he had a harder time picking than Steve or I did is that he was just able to recall a lot more titles than we could. I hadn’t even remembered “Rocky Raccoon” or “Bungalow Bill.”

I asked Tobin if he had a favorite Beatles song, but he just shook his head no. When he was an infant, he used to listen to the Beatles all the time. For a long time, we played Beatles CDs for Tobin’s nap time music.

Please post your favorite Beatles’ tunes in the comments. We’re really interested in seeing other people’s lists!

One thought on “The Beatles

  1. Yellow submarine
    I Am the Walrus
    Octopus’s Garden
    Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band
    Hey Jude
    Love Me Do
    When I’m Sixty-Four
    A Hard Days Night
    Come Together
    Hello, Goodbye

Leave a Reply

