First Day of School…sigh

Despite all of my planning, today’s first day of school didn’t really go as I had expected. I hadn’t expected Steve to absolutely hate his algebra textbook. I hadn’t expected to feel so tired after getting home from work. I hadn’t anticipated Tobin being so extra-needy when I tried to work with Steve on his schoolwork. I hadn’t expected it to take two plus hours to get Tobin to bed, making it hard to get anything else done. I certainly hadn’t planned on being so cranky that I snapped at one of my kids.

There are lots of days where I don’t feel like super mom, able to balance work and homeschooling and our home life. There are lots of days where I feel like I’m being pulled in fifty different directions, and I have so much going on in my head that I can’t remember what I’m supposed to be doing from one minute to the next. But when it’s the very first day of our school year, it somehow makes me feel twice as low as it normally would.

All I can say is…I want a do-over tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “First Day of School…sigh

  1. Our first day didn’t go so well either.The boys did pretty well. Ian got everything done, and Warren did all of the worksheets he could do without me sitting with him, but Tess only finished one math worksheet. Time to rethink all of my well thought out plans. *sigh*

  2. Day two went better than day one. I am already seriously rethinking Steve’s textbooks for two subjects. I think I’d rather change now than three weeks in.

Leave a Reply

